Neil Thomson

Neil Thomson

Neil Thomson has been specially selected by the Head Judge (Rod Bowker) to be an expert judge for the Matchday Hospitality Awards. This judge has been chosen based upon their extensive knowledge and involvement in both the chef and hospitality industries, with over 50 years extensive experience and a passion for driving up standards. Please see their biography details below:


Neil Thomson has been involved in the Hospitality Industry for over 50 years, working in Hotels and Restaurants both in the UK and Europe, he has worked in Hospitality Education for 40 years holding Senior Management positons in the following educational establishments;

Glasgow College of Food Technology – Senior Lecturer in Professional Cookery

Motherwell College – Head of Department of Hospitality & Commercial Development Manager

Neil has achieved many awards during his career, including;

Governor of the Craft Guild of Chefs (Master Craftsman)

Awarded Honorary Life Member of the World Association of Chefs Societies 2014

Industry Award Winner 2008 – Lifetime Achievement

CIS Excellence Awards 2016 – Winner of Special Award for Outstanding Contribution to Industry

Neil is a founding Member in 1994 of The Federation of Chefs Scotland current position as Chief Executive, he is also a Founding Member in 2003 of The CIS Excellence Awards Scotland’s Premier Award for The Hospitality Industry

Chairman of The CIS Excellence Awards Board 2003 – present

Scottish Restaurant Awards – Past Member of Judging Panel

Scottish Licensed Trade Restaurant Awards Past Member of Judging Panel

Director of Scottish Culinary Championships (Salon Culinaire d’Ecosse)   2001 – Present

Director of World Culinary Grand Prix 2001 -2013

Gold, Silver and Bronze Medals for Culinary Competitions

Most recently Neil has been appointed to the Board of World Chefs as the Continental Director for North Europe.

Neil has been a invaluable member of the team of judges for Stadium Experience.


View the latest Matchday Hospitality Judges Report

Return to Matchday Hospitality Award

See all of the judges biographies for the Matchday Hospitality Awards below:

Rod Bowker (Head Judge) Geoff Acott Lee Corke
Graham Crump Paul Gilmore Mark James
Ian Jaundoo Rob Kennedy Donald Leitch
David McKown Dennis Mwakulua Neil Thomson
Sue Woolcock


Advertise your product or service to over 50 stadium venues.

Find out how Stadium Experience can help you

Find Out More


  • Chef De Partie at Southampton Football Club (Training Ground)

    Southampton Football Club
    More information


  • The 2023 Stadium Events & Hospitality Awards heads to Southampton for the first…

    More information
  • Levy UK + Ireland joins forces for regenerative farming initiative

    More information